Time to apply for 3rd Annual National Geographic Travel World Legacy Awards

Time to apply for 3rd Annual National Geographic Travel World Legacy Awards

The World Legacy Awards Call for Entries has been announced, with applications being accepted until Aug. 20, 2016. Celebrating National Geographic’s mission of inspiring people to care about the planet, the World Legacy Awards honour today’s leading sustainable tourism destinations, organizations and businesses, and share their stories with travelers around the world. Any travel and tourism company, organization or destination—ranging from airlines to hotels, from cities to countries, and from luxury tour operators to adventure travel outfitters—is eligible to apply for the awards in one of the five categories.

The World Legacy Awards are a  collaboration between National Geographic and ITB Berlin. For the third year running, ITB Berlin will host the 2017 awards ceremony. In addition to being recognized at ITB Berlin during the March 2017 awards ceremony, winners and finalists of the World Legacy Awards will be featured in National Geographic Traveler magazine and across other National Geographic global media platforms.

“For many companies, campaigning for sustainable tourism has become an indispensable part of their work”, said Dr. Christian Goeke, CEO of Messe Berlin, where ITB takes place. “By presenting the World Legacy Awards, together with National Geographic, we wish to underline how important social responsibility and protecting nature and wildlife are in today’s tourism industry. As the world’s leading travel trade show, we are proud to help raise awareness for sustainable tourism and to draw attention with these awards to the impressive work of hotels, destinations and travel.”

“One day there will be no need for awards that recognize sustainable tourism best practices. Care for local people and the planet will become part of the everyday fabric for how travel businesses operate and destinations thrive. Until then, the World Legacy Awards are shining a light on the travel leaders of today who are transforming tourism in positive ways to help protect cultural and natural heritage for future generations,” said Costas Christ, National Geographic Traveler Editor at Large and Chairman of the World Legacy Awards.

Applications are being accepted in five categories:

  • Earth Changers Recognizing cutting-edge leadership in environmentally friendly business practices and green technology, from renewable energy and water conservation to zero-waste systems and carbon-emission reduction.
  • Sense of PlaceRecognizing excellence in enhancing sense of place and authenticity, including using vernacular architecture and design, and support for the protection of historical monuments, archaeological sites, cultural events, indigenous heritage and artistic traditions.
  • Conserving the Natural World Recognizing outstanding support for the preservation of nature, restoring natural habitat and protecting rare and endangered species, whether on land or in the oceans.
  • Engaging CommunitiesRecognizing direct and tangible economic and social benefits that improve local livelihoods, including training and capacity building, fair wages and benefits, community development, health care and education.
  • Destination LeadershipRecognizing destination leadership, including cities, provinces, states, countries and regions that are demonstrating environmental best practices, protection of cultural and natural heritage, benefits to local communities and educating travelers on the principles of sustainability.

Finalists will be announced by National Geographic in December 2016, and the winners will be announced in March 2017 at ITB Berlin during a special awards ceremony and also participate in related events.

For more information about the World Legacy Awards and how to apply, visit nationalgeographic.com/worldlegacyawards.

A version of this article was first published by National Geographic. Read the original article here: Call for Entries Is Announced for 3rd Annual National Geographic Travel World Legacy Awards – National Geographic Society Press Room

Travindy is an independent website featuring news and opinion on all issues to do with tourism and sustainability. Written primarily for an industry audience, our aim is to support the transformation of the sector into one that is regenerative, restorative and fully inclusive.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Sustainable Tourism Crash Course -spot_img

Useful resources