World Travel & Tourism Council announces winners of 2017 Tourism for Tomorrow awards

World Travel & Tourism Council announces winners of 2017 Tourism for Tomorrow awards

The 2017 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards winners are:

Community Award – Ol Peteja Conservancy, Kenya

Destination Award – Chobe, Makgadikgadi, and Okovango delta Ramsar site, Botswana Tourism Organisation, Botswana

Environment Award – Misool, Indonesia

Innovation Award – Mapping Ocean Wealth, The Nature Conservancy, USA

People Award – The J Willard and Alice S Marriot Foundation’s China Hospitality Education Initiative (CHEI), China

David Scowsill, President & CEO, WTTC, said: “I am delighted by the high standard of all our finalists. Those taking away the Awards this year represent the very best in sustainable tourism, and we hope that their example will both educate their peers and lead the sector forward. The Travel & Tourism sector is growing fast, and we have to ensure that this growth does not see short-term gains prioritised over the longer-term health of local environments and
communities. This year’s Award Winners demonstrate not only that tourism can be sustainable, but that it can bring tangible improvements to both the environmental and cultural surroundings in which it operates. We will see the Travel & Tourism sector driving forward to ensure a more sustainable world.”

For more information on the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards and all the winners, please visit

Travindy is an independent website featuring news and opinion on all issues to do with tourism and sustainability. Written primarily for an industry audience, our aim is to support the transformation of the sector into one that is regenerative, restorative and fully inclusive.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Sustainable Tourism Crash Course -spot_img

Useful resources